ATLANTA – July 28, 2022 – The Wuerffel Trophy, College Football’s Premier Award for Community Service, today announced its watch list of 115 players from college football’s Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) and Middle Tennessee’s Jordan Ferguson is among the nominees.
In 2021, Ferguson successfully launched his first official non-profit organization called Hands Worldwide. With some help, his first event was handing out hot plates of food and water to those in need on the streets of Atlanta during the winter holidays. Later in the winter, he handed out blankets to the homeless in Nashville and Murfreesboro. This is just a small sampling of what he does on a consistent basis. That selfless devotion to not only his teammates, but also the community at large, continues to make the difference in the lives of so many people.
Ferguson, who has been on everyone’s C-USA preseason first team this summer, is coming off an incredible season on and off the field. Ferguson ended 2021 with new career marks in tackles (58), tackles for loss (16.5), sacks (9.0), hurries (14), forced fumbles (3) and fumble recoveries (2). The second team all-conference pick ranked 22nd nationally in tackles for loss.
Named after Danny Wuerffel, the 1996 Heisman Trophy-winning quarterback from the University of Florida, the Wuerffel Trophy is presented each February in Fort Walton Beach, Florida. The trophy honors college football players who serve others, celebrate their positive impact on society and inspire greater service in the world.
“I continue to be impressed with the number of college football players who are achieving on the field and still dedicating time to make a positive impact in their community,” said Wuerffel. “The student-athletes on this watch list are positively impacting organizations throughout the country.”
Nominations for the Wuerffel Trophy are made by the respective universities’ Sports Information Departments and will close on October 14. An up-to-date list of nominees can be found at beginning on August 1. Semifinalists for the award will be announced on November 1, and finalists will be announced on November 22.
The formal announcement of the 2022 recipient is scheduled to be made on December 8, and the presentation of the 2022 Wuerffel Trophy will occur on February 24, 2023.
Player, University, Year, Position
Jordan Battle, Alabama, Sr., DB
Miller Gibbs, Appalachian State, Sr., TE
Jordan Morgan, Arizona , So., OL
Case Hatch, Arizona State, Sr., RB/TE
Cam Little, Arkansas, So., K
Eddie Smith, Arkansas State, Jr., DB
Marquel Broughton, Army, Sr., DB
Nick Brahms, Auburn, Sr., OL
Brandon Martin, Ball State, Sr., LB
Ben Sims, Baylor, Sr., TE
John Ojukwu, Boise State, Sr., OL
Taji Johnson, Boston College. Jr., WR
Austin Osborne, Bowling Green, Sr., WR
Matt McDonald, Bowling Green, Sr., QB
Max Michel, Buffalo, Sr., DL
Tyler Batty, BYU, So., DL
Matthew Cindric, Cal, Sr., OL
Trey Paster, Cal, Jr., LB
Kendrick Blake Jr., Charlotte, Jr., WR
Wilson Huber, Cincinnati, Sr., LB
Will Shipley, Clemson, So., RB
Joshka Gustav, Colorado, So., LB
A’Jon Vivens, Colorado State, Sr., RB
DeWayne Carter, Duke, Jr., DL
Holton Ahlers, East Carolina, Sr., QB
Tariq Speights, Eastern Michigan, Sr., LB
Shykieim Pace, FIU, So., DL
Nay’Quan Wright, Florida, Jr., RB
Dillan Gibbons, Florida State, Sr., OL
Jalen Cropper, Fresno State, Sr., WR
Kearis Jackson, Georgia, Sr., WR/ST
Myles Sims, Georgia Tech, Jr., DB
Jonah Kahahawai-Welch, Hawai’i, Sr., DL
Donavan Mutin, Houston, Sr., LB
Tailon Leitzsey, Illinois, Sr., DB
Jack Tuttle, Indiana, Sr., QB
Anthony Johnson Jr., Iowa State, Sr., DB
Sam Burt, Kansas, Sr., DL
Will Howard, Kansas State, Jr., QB
Isaac Vance, Kent State, Sr., WR
Jalen Geiger, Kentucky, Jr., DB
Chris Smith, Louisiana, Jr., RB
Joshua Mote, Louisiana Tech, Sr., OL
Ali Gaye, LSU, Sr., DL
Mike Jones Jr., LSU, Sr., LB
Rasheen Ali, Marshall, So., RB
Tyriek Bell, Marshall, Sr., LB
Anthony Pecorella, Maryland, Sr., P
Quindell Johnson, Memphis, Sr., DB
Clay James, Miami, Jr., LS
Blake Corum, Michigan, Jr., RB
Tre Mosley, Michigan State, Sr., WR
Jordan Ferguson, Middle Tennessee, Sr., DL
Tanner Morgan, Minnesota, Sr., QB
Austin Williams, Mississippi State, Sr., WR
Barrett Banister, Missouri, Sr., WR
Bijan Nichols, Navy, Sr., K
Christopher Toudle, NC State, Jr., TE
Ethan Piper, Nebraska, Jr., OL
Christian Swint, Nevada , Sr., DB
Luke Wysong, New Mexico, So., WR
Carson Pharris, New Mexico State, So., OL
Nick Rattin, Northern Illinois, Jr., LB
Jack Kiser, Notre Dame, Jr., LB
Kam Babb, Ohio State, Jr. WR
Marvin Mims, Oklahoma, Jr., WR
Brendon Evers, Oklahoma State, Sr., DL
B.R. Hatcher, Old Dominion, Jr., LS
KD Hill , Ole Miss, Sr., DL
Alex Austin, Oregon State, So., DB
Sean Clifford, Penn State, Sr., QB
Deslin Alexandre, Pittsburgh, Sr., DL
Aidan O’Connell, Purdue, Sr., QB
Ikenna Enechukwu, Rice, Jr., DL
Mayan Ahanotu, Rutgers, Sr., DL
Michael Shawcroft, San Diego State, Sr., LB
Chevan Cordeiro, San Jose State, Jr., QB
Terrance Newman, SMU, Sr., DL
Keith Gallmon Jr., South Alabama, Sr., DB
MarShawn Lloyd, South Carolina, So., RB
Swayze Bozeman, Southern Miss, Sr., LB
John Humphreys, Stanford, Jr., WR
Patrick Fields, Stanford, Sr., DB
Tanner McKee, Stanford, Jr., QB
Aaron Bolinsky, Syracuse, Sr., LS
Andrew Coker, TCU, Jr., OL
Isaac Moore, Temple, Sr., OL
Jacob Warren, Tennessee, Sr., TE
Bijan Robinson, Texas, Jr., RB

Layden Robinson, Texas A&M, Jr., OL
Micah Hilts, Texas State, Jr., TE
Tony Bradford Jr., Texas Tech, Sr., DL
Mitchell Berg, Toledo, Sr., OL
Craig Slocum Jr., Troy, Sr., DB
Nick Anderson, Tulane, Sr., LB
Davis Brin, Tulsa, Sr., QB
Sidney Wells, UAB, Sr., OL
Isaiah Bowser, UCF, Sr. , RB
Chase Griffin, UCLA, Jr., QB
Robert Burns, UConn, Sr., RB
Ellis Merriweather, UMass, Sr., RB
Caleb Williams, USC, So., QB
Antonio Grier, USF, Sr., LB
Dalton Kincaid, Utah, Sr., TE
Andre Grayson, Utah State, Sr., DB
Deion Hankins, UTEP, So., RB
Frank Harris, UTSA, Sr., QB
Ben Bresnahan, Vanderbilt, Sr., TE
Chayce Chalmers, Virginia, Jr., DB
Isaiah Chaney, Wake Forest, So., DL
Alex Cook, Washington, Sr., DB
Travion Brown, Washington State, Jr., LB
Zach Frazier, West Virginia, Jr., OL
Juwuan Jones, Western Kentucky, Sr., DL
Boone Bonnema, Western Michigan, So., LB